Thinking Thin – My world-view and I

Not only have I said it before, I’m sure we all know or permit me to say at least 99.9% of us do agree; change is the most constant aspect of life. We experience change every day in a variety of ways. From rearranging our home or office space to transforming our lifestyle, change is what we all experience.

Why, then, is it so difficult for people to make significant changes in their work or career world? Why do we seem to be most comfortable doing the things we have been doing in the same way we have been doing them for so long?

Perhaps it has to do with the kind of change and the level at which that change affects our MEANING of the world. When dealing with the redesign of our home, it may be a bit uncomfortable and take some time for us to get used to finding things, but it doesn’t cause us to really examine what we believe to be true about ourselves, the world within which we live and work, or our sense of who we are in that world. When we are faced with a change that causes us to re-examine our beliefs about ourselves or our world, perhaps that change is more difficult because it requires us to redefine ourselves and the world. It causes us to change our world-view.

I’ll like to explain our world-view as the way we make sense of the world and our place in that world, any change that threatens that world-view also threatens our existence as a being. If what I have come to believe and understand is no longer relevant, perhaps I am no longer relevant. And being a creature who wants to be relevant and enjoys the comfort of the predictable, we therefore, resist this change rather than embrace the unknown of something different. Instead we try to control the change and manipulate the situation to maintain the status quo.

I recall leaving my dad home and going off to the university. During holidays, when sharing what I was experiencing and learning with my parents, several of those discussions were usually pale and short. After one such short and difficult conversation with my dad, I remember him saying something like the following; “I don’t know what is happening to you, you used to be this straight thinking adhering child. You have become so un serious and so unconcerned about the things that matter (what matters per time to everyone is what we should all pay attention to). I don’t understand what is happening to the world today.” (Keep in mind, I’m still in the university at this age when we all have a need to make sure we are working in purpose.)

My going to the university not only had a significant impact on my world-view, but it also was very unsettling to my dad’s world-view. Both of us were forced to re-examine our beliefs about the world and our role in it. My dad could not accept that I was growing and seeing things differently which then impacted my relationship with him as he knew it and had to start enjoying it. He was forced to change his world-view and his role in it as it related to me, his son.

When we experience the work/career world today, are we being forced to re-examine our beliefs about that work or career world and our role in that world?

We may need to change our world-view and accept that we need to change in order to relate to the constant changing world-view. While this may be difficult at first, we may find through our experimenting with new ways of being that we discover a new and more satisfying life experience.

Think about the significant and deeper level changes you are facing. Are they causing you to reflect upon your world-view? I hope so. A great author Abraham Maslow once said in one of his books “one component of becoming self-actualized is the ability to change one’s world-view”.  Until next time, enjoy the changes you are experiencing and reflect upon how your world view may need to change.

…helping you become.

6 thoughts on “Thinking Thin – My world-view and I

Leave a Reply

